Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

Welcome Steph! September 24, 2009

Filed under: Our Team,Volunteer — seattleworks @ 9:47 pm
Tags:

I go by many names, but prefer Stephanie or Steph. I’m the newest AmeriCorps VISTA member working with Seattle Works for the year. I’m from Southeast Alaska- where I do not live in an igloo nor do I have a pet penguin. However, I do have an Alaskan Malamute and have to worry about bears getting in my garbage.

 

 This isn’t my first time in Seattle; I graduated from UW in ‘02, where I majored in American Ethnic Studies.  After school was a whirl of activity, including traveling (Europe, Asia, Australia, & Africa) and living in Chiang Mai, Thailand- where I taught English & worked with a Burmese NGO. I also worked in Alaska tourism, at a bookstore, as well as worked at 4 of the last 5 Olympics (I missed Salt Lake City).

 

 Last year, I decided to try out the East Coast, moved to Vermont, and went back to school at the SIT Graduate Institute. Vermont was a lot like Alaska- except for there wasn’t an ocean. I find I go a bit crazy when I don’t live near the ocean- so VT not having an ocean was a major defect on its part. Good thing they have great apples, pumpkins, maple syrup, and the festivals to go with them.

 

 While in VT, I studied Sustainable Development and found that within that, my particular interests are the policy advocacy and community development aspects.  Now, I’m in the off campus phase of my master’s degree program- which brings me back to Seattle and to Seattle Works. I’m really excited to be part of an organization that emphasizes the importance of community development & community involvement.  

 

 What’s my favorite color? The color of the sky, the ocean and my eyes.

 

Leave a Reply

