Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

New AmeriCorps VISTAs Join Our Team! May 6, 2010

Filed under: Our Team — seattleworks @ 8:00 pm
Tags: ,

Introducing Megan and Randi – our two newest VISTAs!  With Seattle Works Day just around the corner, you’ll be able to meet them face to face at the AfterParty.

Meet Megan!  I’ll be doing a lot of work for the Volunteer Administrators Network, an organization Seattle Works is a member of, but am really excited to help out on things like Seattle Works Day, too!

So about me, I’m from that city down the road…Portland, OR.  I grew up there, I think it’s a pretty awesome place to be a kid.  I went to college at the University of Oregon where I majored in advertising and went up the ranks in my sorority, Sigma Mu Omega, and eventually became president.  I also worked at an elementary school in Springfield where I taught reading to first through third grade students.  Post-college, I worked on the beginning phases of an ongoing gubernatorial race in Oregon.  I was really able to hone my social media (Facebook!) skills and make them something valuable there.  I also managed volunteers and the database.  It was pretty awesome.

What I love about Seattle is that the vibe is art-centered like Portland, but it’s bigger, so there’s more to see and hear.  I live for art.  When I’m not at work, you can find me in my kitchen (baking cupcakes, probably), working on my latest art project (in a corner of my bedroom I’m very proud to have turned into an art space) or hanging out with my friends in front of the space needle.  And oh yeah, my favorite color is HOT PINK!

Meet Randi! 
Yes, I am a Texas-raised Canadian-American. And you ask… how did I get here in Seattle? Born in Canada and raised as somewhat of a transient, my family moved many times in my lifetime. I feel absolutely lucky to have moved so many times; I was able to meet a number great people and see some amazing places. And as a result, people and taking care of our community are my passion. Other things I care about: staying active, hiking & camping, crossword puzzles, cooking, making greeting cards and tending to my first-time window garden. Most recently, I came from Bellingham, where I worked at Whatcom Volunteer Center organizing events and managing volunteer opportunities. Seattle Works will be a great way to expand on my experiences while also contributing what I have learned through working in nonprofits for 4 years.

I spent majority of my life living in Texas and after graduating from the University of Texas at Austin, I immediately proceeded to teach science outdoors to school groups of all ages in the valley of Vail, CO, on the Outer Banks of NC and on beautiful Lake Crescent of Olympic National Park . I fell in love with teaching and working with youth and children. And every single student I have ever taught has inspired me to wake up in the morning and make this world a little bit of a better place for kids to be every day. So I have pursued coordinating volunteer opportunities with the intention of getting people involved in projects that will do such a thing. I will be the “new Kym,” which means I will be organizing Hot Projects and Team Works for the next year. I’m so excited to meet you and work with you; we’re going to have a blast! Check out the opportunities to get involved and thanks for being a part of my experience at Seattle Works. Enjoy the sunshine!

Welcome to the team – we’re glad you’re here!

 

2 Responses to “New AmeriCorps VISTAs Join Our Team!”

  1. Biju Says:

    Welcome aboard! Hope you enjoyed your first swd :)

  2. Randi McKenna Says:

    My favorite color is bright, olive green! Or seaweed green. I don’t actually know what the name of it is…but I like it.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,008 other followers