Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

Welcome Kathleen & Tegan! September 13, 2010

Filed under: Our Team — seattleworks @ 8:57 pm
Tags: ,

Hola Kathleen!

I’ve recently discovered that I’m the baby of the Seattle Works staff.  I come to Seattle fresh from Kenyon College (a small liberal arts school in rural Ohio) where I majored in Political Science and took a lot of Spanish classes along the way (it was basically a second major).  After college, I said good bye to the cornfields and indulged my traveler’s instinct by moving to the West Coast.  Born and raised in Arlington Heights, IL, a suburb of Chicago, I developed a love for the urban life from afar as I pined for the skyscrapers, dirty streets, and rich culture of the big city, which is part of what brought me to Seattle a little over a month ago.  The coffee was also a big pull.  So far, Seattle seems like the perfect place for me to explore my favorite things: good food, the beautiful outdoors, great books, new music and the touch of quirkiness I’m always looking for in life.

I spent the majority of my time in college involving myself in volunteer activities and organizations.  Whether it was tutoring, organizing a fundraiser, or blazing trails at our nature center, I couldn’t get enough of giving back to the community.  Community service is such a great way to expand circles of awareness and to build relationships.  I knew I wanted to pursue a job after college that would let me continue understanding why volunteering can be so powerful.  That’s why I am so excited to be working at Seattle Works.  I know I’m going to learn a lot about the nonprofit world and what makes people tick in terms of giving their time and energy to beneficial causes.  As the new Volunteer Connections Coordinator I’ll be focusing on the Board Works program and our newest HandsOn Leadership program.  HandsOn Leadership is shaping up to be a new, kickin’ opportunity to take volunteering to the next level and I can’t wait to see where it’s going.  I look forward to meeting people throughout the year, and I’m eager to hear new ideas! 

Oh…and GO SOUNDERS!  (For any fellow soccer fans out there.)

Howdy Tegan!

Nerdy Reference #1: Tegan. An unusual name right? Look up Daleks. In doing so, you may come across the character that inspired my parents when it was time for naming their first-born.

Speaking of birth, I was born and raised in Colorado and graduated from the University of Northern Colorado with a degree in Anthropology, emphasis Archaeology, in 2007 (Nerdy Reference #2: think Indiana Jones…only female…and not as tall). But instead of heading out into the field afterwards, I realized that what I truly wanted to do was work in a museum, focusing on education and program development. Finding an artifact is exciting, but what I really enjoy is teaching others about what’s found and why it should be preserved. That’s what brought me to Seattle (UW Museology Department HERE I COME).

For Seattle Works, I will be acting as the Volunteer Leadership Coordinator, working with Kathleen on developing The Bridge and HandsOn Leadership. I am really excited about expanding my non-profit knowledge and meeting others my age that are helping and shaping their community by becoming involved.

We’re glad you’re here.  Go team go!

 

One Response to “Welcome Kathleen & Tegan!”

  1. biju.m Says:

    Welcome to SW! Looking forward to meeting you guys soon


Leave a Reply

