Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

The ask, year two December 17, 2010

Filed under: Support Seattle Works — seattleworks @ 6:52 pm
Tags:

 Brought to you by this year’s volunteer of the year.  He’s continually earning his title.  Take it away ace Thomas:

Ladies and Gentlemen,

    The short: I ask you to support Seattle Works by giving $25 today. The link is https://seattleworks.ejoinme.org/21Fun  

If you need some convincing or want to read about me crying, then read on.

    The long: This is my second annual request for my friends and family to support Seattle Works.  This is part of the Seattle Works “21 Fun” campaign that marks Seattle Works’s 21st anniversary.  As many of you know from listening to me babble on incessantly, Seattle Works is a non-profit organization that strives to engage folk in their community. Seattle Works does so by providing volunteer and leadership opportunities to engage citizens and develop emerging community leaders. Seattle Works, in addition to the tremendous number of volunteer hours directly coordinated, has alums in civic organizations all over the Seattle area. It truly is helping to build the next generation of civic leaders in Seattle.

    While that is all well and good, it is only a small part of why I ask you contribute today. Seattle Works has had a profound impact on my life and the lives of many of the people that have been involved with the organization. Seattle Works has given me the opportunity to meet great friends, deepen relationships with those that I already knew, and become part of a vibrant community of people who care about the place in which they live. As a side benefit, I have been able to help others through work at parks, schools, food banks, child care centers, and homeless shelters.

    As an example of one the projects that our volunteer team has done this year, we participated in a project coordinated by Seattle Works’s HandsOn Leadership program. In that program, participants learn to plan, fund, and execute volunteer projects in their communities. Our project was located at the Hamlin-Robinson School on Capitol Hill in Seattle. Hamlin-Robinson is a school that serves students with dyslexia and related language difficulties. We painted new play areas, revived landscaping around the school, and cleaned throughout the facility.  After the project, one of the Seattle Works board members used photos taken by our team (many or all of which were taken by Jesse Stanley) to create the following 3 minute video:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rp1YEsXbI_0

I just watched it again and I would be lying if I told you that I had dry eyes at the end of that.  It was a great day and I am so happy that I got to be part of it.

Look, Seattle Works does great things. It means a ton to me. It means a ton to the people that it serves. 
Please help the work continue.
I realize $25 is not insignificant but, just think, now you don’t have to buy me that Shake Weight for Christmas. The link again: https://seattleworks.ejoinme.org/21Fun

Thanks for reading and for giving,

Thomas

 

Leave a Reply

