Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

Bridge Grad – Spotlight on Le Ann! June 6, 2011

Filed under: Lead,The Bridge — seattleworks @ 7:10 pm
Tags:

We are excited to feature one of our Bridge Alums finding a board they are passionate about!

Le Ann Langston

Bridge Grad: Fall 2010

Organization: Northwest Girls Coalition

I selected the Northwest Girls Coalition (NWGC) because its mission was closely aligned with my passion.  When joining the Bridge I remember thinking that I wanted to do something to serve women and/or girls. NWGC was a perfect match!

From the first meeting in November observing the council through today, I’ve felt that I’m an active part in the organization’s success.  NWGC held their annual evening event in February and has an upcoming facilitated networking Happy Hour April 19th.  The biggest thing I walked away from the Bridge with is knowledge of all the different ways I could make a difference.

Before the Bridge, I wanted to be involved but didn’t know where to start.  The speed dating exercise was a fantastic way for me to get my feet wet and realizes that I could make a difference.  In addition, to being part of NWGC leadership council I’ve started serving on my daughter’s co-op preschool board.  My favorite part of board service so far is getting to know people with common interests better!

 

Leave a Reply

