Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream, For Ice Cream… August 12, 2011

Filed under: Influence,Lead,Our Team,Volunteer — seattleworks @ 6:08 pm
Tags:

Vanilla, Snickerdoodle, Coconut mint chip… decisions, decisions.

On Wednesday we rallied at Gas Works Park to celebrate and give thanks to everyone who volunteered with us (HOT Projects and Teamworks), took the Bridge, and those who served on different Seattle Works committees over the summer months.

We had over 50 different volunteer projects this summer, so we teamed up with Bluebird Ice Cream (our Capitol Hill neighbors) to give delicious treats out to everyone. We had ladderball set up, a croquet course, and there was a pretty intense game of bananagrams – still not really sure who won that…

This was our way to thank all of you for coming out and spending your time with us this summer. Seattle Works couldn’t survive without all of the volunteer hours that are put in by all of our participants. Even if you couldn’t make it this time, let it be known that:

a.) You rock!
b.) We hope to see you at some of our awesome Fall programming.


This ice-cream party also coincided with the end of my term at Seattle Works. I’m sad to leave as I’ve had a great time in Seattle; working at Seattle Works this summer has been a great experience and I’ve learned so much about how to get involved with my own community. I’ve met some amazing people along the way, from the Seattle Works staff to the volunteers who I’ve worked with – thanks for being so welcoming and sharing with me some of your Seattle wisdom!

I’m heading back home to England tomorrow, and then in a couple of weeks I’ll be back in Durham, North Carolina to start my Junior Year at Duke University. I won’t be in Seattle for a while, but I’ll be sure to keep updated on everything that’s happening out here.

Seattle – it’s been a blast!

 

Leave a Reply

