Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

Meet Eric! A Bridge grad who learned how to connect his skills with his passion! November 7, 2011

Filed under: Lead,The Bridge — seattleworks @ 6:50 pm
Tags:

Eric Laliberte

Bridge Grad: Summer 2010

Organization: People for Puget Sound

I enrolled in Law School at the University of Washington with visions of sharpening my skills and learning a new way of thinking to apply in service of the community that I grew up in. However, after spending the majority of my first year stowed-away in the library basement with only my books for company, I felt burned out and disconnected from the world outside of my casebooks.

I desperately wanted to find a new opportunity, outside of the law school walls, that matched my values and could serve as a counterweight to my solitary and often isolating legal studies. Unfortunately, I didn’t even know where to start, until, while surfing the internet looking for opportunities to serve, I stumbled upon Seattle Works and The Bridge board training program.

The Bridge provided me with the perfect opportunity to connect my skills with my passions. First, the learning sessions offered not only a chance to learn the skills necessary for serving as an effective board member, but also presented a glimpse into the types of board structures and cultures that we were likely to encounter. Just as important, the Bridge offered a chance to meet with local organizations that were searching for new board members.

During the “speed dating” session at the close of the program, I was reintroduced to People for Puget Sound, an organization that I had volunteered with in high school and continued to admire. I met with many great organizations during the program, but I really “clicked” with the board members from People for Puget Sound. The organizations mission also fit perfectly with my values and passion for the Sound. Following the Bridge, I stayed in touch with the board members that I met from People for Puget Sound, and when I was asked to join the board, I immediately accepted.

Serving on the board of People for Puget Sound has been nothing short of amazing. At the very first meeting, I felt valued as a contributor to the organization, which is, in no small part, because of the tools the Bridge provided me during the training sessions. Now entering my second year on the board, I am leading the organization’s efforts to engage the next generation of conservationists and couldn’t be happier with my experience. Law School remains a grind, and my days are now busier than they have ever been, but my life is richer and more in line with my values because of the privilege of serving on the People for Puget Sound board.

If any readers share my passion for protecting Puget Sound, I invite you to come learn about People for Puget Sound’s new young-professionals board at a happy hour social on Thursday, November 17th at 5:00pm at the Bookstore Bar on 1st and Madison.

 

Sound like the kind of action you want to take? Sign up for The Bridge course! Next one starts Sat 11/12: 

http://www.seattleworks.org/SW_TheBridge 

 

Or if you are a Bridge success story, we’d love to feature you! Contact: lead@seattleworks.org

 

Leave a Reply

