Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

Seattle Works Day – An Ideal Day For Lindsay! June 1, 2012

Filed under: Seattle Works Day,Volunteer — seattleworks @ 5:38 pm
Tags:

This year’s Seattle Works Day was my first as a participant rather than a fan on the sidelines preoccupied with other commitments.  I had been wanting to take part for years, and I was so excited to finally be able to join in!  My high expectations of the event were exceeded – I had a GREAT experience!

 

I was working with the public team (Seattle Works Team) at B.F. Day Elementary in Fremont clearing out a swath of the property for play-space expansion.  It was hard physical work, and everything was well-organized but flexible, allowing each person to organically find tasks that suited them.  I felt like efficiency was maximized without sacrificing the thoughtful details that often made me forget I was “working.” I felt very valued as a volunteer and well taken care of.  I couldn’t believe how much we got done in just a few hours!

 

I met a lot of fun and interesting people, learned more about how awesome Seattle Works is, and felt good about being able to help out with a project that will really benefit our community.

 

Working hard and then playing hard; accomplishing a lot of important work with many hands in a relatively short time, all while raising some money for and awareness about Seattle Works, made for an ideal day.  I feel grateful to have been able to participate, and I’m looking forward to SWDs in the future and other SW projects in between!

-Lindsay

Seattle Works Day 2012 participant

Group photo of volunteers at B.F. Day Elementary School

 

Leave a Reply

