Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

New Summer Interns June 21, 2012

Filed under: Our Team — seattleworks @ 7:03 pm
Tags:
From Blog Photos

Hey everyone! My name is Elyn and I’ll be a Seattle Works intern for the next 8 weeks! I just finished my junior year at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina. At Duke, I’m majoring in Psychology, minoring in Chemistry, and working towards a certificate in Markets and Management Studies. As of now, I have no definite career path that I feel I must follow but I am strongly considering applying to Physician’s Assistant school.

I found my way to Seattle Works this summer through a civic engagement program at Duke called DukeEngage. The mission of DukeEngage is to empower students to address critical human needs through immersive service, in the process transform students, advance the University’s educational mission, and provide meaningful assistance to communities in the U.S. and abroad. The specific focus of the Seattle program is to partner participating students with non-profits in various service sectors to help address community needs in collaboration with Duke alumni.

Alongside 17 other Duke students, I’ll be spending the next 2 months working in the Seattle community. I decided to apply to the Seattle DukeEngage program because of my dear friend Claire McIlvenny. Last summer Claire completed the DukeEngage program and worked at Seattle Works. She repeatedly raved about the city of Seattle and Seattle Works which convinced me to apply. I’m so excited and grateful for the opportunity to live in Seattle and work at Seattle Works! Through my experience with DukeEngage and interning at Seattle Works I hope to fully immerse myself in the workings of the non-profit sector and learn more to find out if non-profit work is something I would like to pursue after graduating from Duke.

Some other random things about me: I have lived in Durham, NC, Chicago, Il, Austin, TX, San Diego, CA, and a tent in Krzyzewskiville (for 6 weeks) to hold a spot for the Duke vs UNC basketball game. As a college student, caffeinated beverages are near and dear to my heart so I’m excited to try out many of the different coffee shops that Seattle has to offer. I also greatly enjoy Zumba, pilates, and making/eating chocolate chip scones.

 

From Blog Photos

Hello, my name is Michael and I’ll be working with Seattle Works this summer as a DukeEngage intern!  I’m currently an undergraduate at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina where I am double majoring in Biomedical Engineering and Economics.  I am here in Seattle this summer with 17 other DukeEngage participants who are all working with various non-profit organizations around the city.

I decided to apply to DukeEngage to explore something different from my majors and because I didn’t have any summer plans.  I chose Seattle because it was a place I’ve never visited, so this seemed like a great opportunity.  Now that I’m here, I’m excited to get started with Seattle Works!

