Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

Kathleen Weber says YouthCare is awesome! August 20, 2012

Filed under: 10 Question Profile — seattleworks @ 7:00 am
Tags:


1. Name: Kathleen (Katie) Weber

    Neighborhood: Capitol Hill

    Years in Seattle: 2

    Occupation:  Looking! update: new job starts this week!

2. Where is your favorite place to go in Seattle?

Probably Cal Anderson park. If it’s a nice day, it’s a great place to just sit in the sun. I love watching games at Bobby Morris or catching the occasional dodgeball game in the tennis courts. It’s got to be some of the best people watching in the city.

3. Your first interaction with Seattle Works was…?

Well…I worked for Seattle Works as an Americorps member ’10-’11. That was also the first year I lived in Seattle, so I hadn’t really had any experience with SW prior to that!

4. What’s the best meal you’ve eaten in the Seattle area?

Ahh this is too hard. Anything I get at Machiavelli (on Pine, near Melrose). It’s always like an hour+ wait, but it’s worth it. No frills Italian deliciousness. And I love the neighborhoody atmosphere there.

5. Are you involved with any other Seattle nonprofit organizations?

Yeah, I volunteer at YouthCare’s Orion Center as a GED tutor. YouthCare is awesome!

6. Which coffee shop do you frequent most?

Analog – on Summit. It’s like 2 blocks from my apartment so I have no reason to go anywhere else! And the guys who started it are really nice and awesome coffee nerds. Very different from being coffee snobs– they’re totally into making delicious coffee, but without the pretension.

7. What three words best describe your experience with Seattle Works?

Communal. Friendly. Educational.

8. Mariners, Sounders, or Seahawks?

I KNOW I AM I THINK I AM I’M SOUNDERS TIL I DIE.

9.  What is your most (or first) memorable volunteer experience?

I think the tutoring that I do is generally the most memorable. I can’t think of a specific time, but I walk away with stories every day. The kids are not even much younger than I am, but they make me laugh with how ridiculous they can be almost always. Being a regular volunteer somewhere is super rewarding. People remember you and you really feel like you’re having an impact on their day.

10. What makes someone a Seattleite?

This is lame, but just living here and knowing the city pretty well. I think having a grasp of neighborhoods and haunts outside of your own makes you a Seattleite. Then again, I think being a terrible driver also makes you a true Seattleite, so I’ll never call myself one! That, and complaining about the heat when it’s 70 degrees out. Come on, people!

This weekly 10 question profile is Seattle Works way of highlighting and saying THANK YOU to all that our volunteers, leaders, community partners, board members, committee members, etc do for our community! We’re asking the same 10 questions to various Seattle Works participants as a fun way to feature the different ways to be involved with Seattle Works and in Seattle.

Want to be profiled? Fill out this survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/5KP5CY3 and send a photo to yourself to Bevin at bevin@seattleworks.org

P.S. In case you’re interested, the inspiration behind these interviews comes from NY Mag’s weekly blog post.

 

Leave a Reply

