Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

Meet our new AmeriCorps team September 7, 2012

Filed under: Our Team — seattleworks @ 4:31 pm
Tags: , ,

Seattle Works welcomes our new AmeriCorps Team!

Meet Ben

Hello! I am thrilled to be spending my next 11 or so months with Seattle Works! I am the new Volunteer Leadership Coordinator, specifically coordinating and facilitating The Bridge. I have a strong passion in nonprofit leadership and boards and am excited to bring those passions to SW and The Bridge.

Born in the suburbs of Chicago, IL, raised in Louisville, KY and Charlotte, NC; I’ve lived in Seattle for a little over a year now and can honestly say I feel at home. My background in nonprofits is different than some of my colleagues in that I have worked with theatre and/or arts organizations. I have a B.A. in Theatre with an emphasis in Stage Directing/Management from Greensboro College in Greensboro, NC. My professional goals and passions are my driving force in everything that I do. I am an avid lover of [almost] all art forms, I have almost 10 years of vocal training and can (and will) be heard singing in the office.

My previous work experiences includes 5 years of service to the Southeastern Theatre Conference as volunteer, intern, operations staff, and then mostly recently as Volunteer Coordinator and leaders of the operations staff; 4 years working with the North Carolina Theatre Conference starting as a volunteer and working up to Auditions Coordinator and Assistant Convention Coordinator. Additionally, I’ve worked at the Seattle International Film Festival as the Special Events Assistant; Barter Theatre in Abingdon, VA; and as a Shift Supervisor at Starbucks!

Away from work I enjoy cooking, camping, films, rooftop decks, and spending time with friends out on the Hill. I also hope to start hiking, kayaking, water skiiing, and mountain climbing in the near future!

I, again, am looking forward to my time here at SW and as an AmeriCorps member! I look forward to meeting all of you!

Meet Tomilyn
I’m here as the new HandsOn Leadership project coordinator and am really excited to be working with the amazing team at Seattle Works. Giving people the tools to help their community is something I’m really passionate about and I think HandsOn Leadership is a great way to get meaningful work done that makes a lasting impact.

I was born in Renton, raised in Kent, and went to Seattle for college but since then I’ve been flitting around the world living and working in Kyrgyzstan, Cambodia, Guatemala, and Peru. Now I’m back in Seattle and bracing myself for living with the rain again if this good weather streak ever ends.
I’ve been an English teacher, a grants writer, a volunteer and program coordinator, and am thrilled to start developing volunteer leaders. At the UW I studied Cultural Anthropology and English Literature, and when I’m not volunteering I can almost always be found with my nose in a (hopefully) good book.

Meet Irina

Hey Seattle Works community! My name is Irina and I’m the new Volunteer Programs Coordinator. I’ll be focused on coordinating Hot Projects and Team Works, and cannot wait to work with the awesome group of volunteers and project hosts that we have on board. Inspiring people is a huge passion of mine, and that’s why this opportunity is a perfect fit for me!

I was born in Ukraine and immigrated to Seattle at the age of 4. Ever since I could remember, I couldn’t wait to leave Seattle. But every time I did leave – I always ended up coming back. My last short-term move was to Dallas, Texas in May. While having sunshine all day, every day was nice – nothing beats Seattle. There’s something in the air in this beautiful city; the communities are amazing, the people are friendly and the scenery cannot be beat.

I graduated from the University of Washington earlier this year with an B.A. in Global Studies and a minor in Human Rights. I’ve volunteered with numerous non-profit organizations, and realized that working and inspiring volunteers, organizing events and helping communities bond are my biggest passions. I can’t wait to utilize the skills that I’ve learned over the years and make Team Works and Hot Projects exciting, rewarding and fun for volunteers!

Outside the office, I love being outdoors. Hiking, tennis and jogging around Greenlake are just a few of my outdoor activities. I’m also quite the foodie (although a terrible cook), and I try to eat out at local restaurant once a week. Vegetarian restaurants usually know me by name in Seattle.

I’m very excited for my AmeriCorps position, and can’t wait to dip my toes into the Seattle Works community. I look forward to working with a lot of people who I can inspire, but who also inspire me!

 

Leave a Reply

