Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

“Getting serenaded by Elvis while volunteering? Perfect!” October 1, 2012

Filed under: Hot Projects,Volunteer — seattleworks @ 2:07 pm
Tags:

This past weekend was a pretty awesome one: I, the Volunteer Programs Coordinator, finally coordinated my first Hot Project! And let me tell you, it was quite the adventure.

I saw Elvis standing near the stage as soon as I arrived at Magnuson Park for the Share the Vision Walkathon (the walkathon was designed to raise funds for SightConnection – an amazing nonprofit that specializes in helping people with vision loss stay active and independent) on Sat 9/29. It was 9am, but he was already prancing around and giving his most seductive look while proclaiming “Hey baby” to everyone in sight.

I met the rest of the Seattle Works volunteers, and we got to work: we helped with registration, handed out goodies, took donations, and worked the food tent. The volunteers were engaged and excited to help!

We had a few moments of down time, and it was then that Elvis decided to grab Katie (one of our amazing volunteers – and she went willingly) away to dance! I had to take a picture for proof.

After Elvis finished his performance (well…he never really finished; he kept singing and singing and singing – and dancing), we managed the course of the walk and helped the walkers (many people with vision loss) stay on the path! Afterwards, we congratulated the walkers and hung Mardi Gras beads on each person. We then helped take down the tables, chairs and tents – the men were happy to do some “manly” work!

All in all, it was a great first event for me to coordinate, and I’m happy that I met such wonderful volunteers, participants and staff at SightConnection!

I enjoyed working with the volunteers so much that I decided we all needed a picture together; unfortunately, Katie didn’t make it into the picture – but her dancing with Elvis makes up for it!

I cannot wait to coordinate more projects, and work with more volunteers – new and old!

If you want to get in on the action (I can’t promise you Elivs, but I can promise that you’ll have a great time), sign up on our Hot Projects calendar now! We have amazing projects every week that need fun and hard-working volunteers!

If you have any questions, you can email me at irina@seattleworks.org.

 

One Response to ““Getting serenaded by Elvis while volunteering? Perfect!””

  1. Katie Wilson Says:

    It was so fun! Hope to volunteer with you again soon, Irina!


Leave a Reply

