Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

Mercedes Elizalde loves the incredibly laid back nature of Seattle February 18, 2013

Filed under: 10 Question Profile — seattleworks @ 7:00 am
Tags:

1. Name: Mercedes Elizalde

    Neighborhood: First Hill

    Years in Seattle: 2

    Occupation: Director of Childcare

2. Where is your favorite place to go in Seattle?

Greenlake

3. Your first interaction with Seattle Works was…?

The Bridge training

4. What’s the best meal you’ve eaten in the Seattle area?

Yellow Curry with Tofu at Thai Thom’s

5. Are you involved with any other Seattle nonprofit organizations?

I work with the Associated Recreation Council and The Student Conservation Association.  I also volunteer with Planned Parenthood and am on the Board of Directors of the Children’s Campaign Fund.

6. Which coffee shop do you most frequent?

It depends on the day (and who I may be with) but usually it is the Starbucks on 4th and Seneca or Tully’s on Broadway and Pike.

7. What three words best describe your experience with Seattle Works?

Motivating, Educational and Fun

8. Mariners, Sounders, or Seahawks?

I really like going to baseball games.  Its not something that I follow closely but just something about the atmostphere of the stadium is always inviting; but I am more of a football fan at heart.

9.  What is your most (or first) memorable volunteer experience?

I would say the most memorable moment for me was the first time I did a tabling event for Planned Parenthood.  I was really neverous about approching people and asking for signatures and passing out information about the health clinics.  It was a bit out of my comfort zone but I knew that it was good work that needed to be done.  I ended up being much easier and a more fun than I expected.  People would actually come up to me and ask how they could help.  It felt renewing and inspiring to see so many people concerned with the issues or so open to talking about the benefits of Planned Parenthood clinics.  I had an opportunity to speak with lots of different people and I left feeling great about how many thoughtful progressive minded people lived the Seattle Area.  It made me want to find ways to get more invovled and continue to support causes I believed in.  It was my first volunteer experience after moving to Seattle and it was a great way to get my foot in the door.

10. What makes someone a Seattleite?

Laid back! That was the first thing I noticed about Seattle and the thing that drew me here the most.  I love the fact that everything feels incredibly laid back and relaxed.  Although there is the rush of the city I never feel like I have to be anywhere, it is completely acceptable to sit in a coffee shop for hours (not even drinking coffee) or go for a long walk with no particular place to go (rain or shine).

 

 

This weekly 10 question profile is Seattle Works way of highlighting and saying THANK YOU to all that our volunteers, leaders, community partners, board members, committee members, etc do for our community! We’re asking the same 10 questions to various Seattle Works participants as a fun way to feature the different ways to be involved with Seattle Works and in Seattle.

Want to be profiled? Fill out this survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/5KP5CY3 and send a photo to yourself to Bevin at bevin@seattleworks.org

P.S. In case you’re interested, the inspiration behind these interviews comes from NY Mag’s weekly blog post.

 

Leave a Reply

