Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

Tara Smith enjoys staring out at the Sound April 15, 2013

Filed under: 10 Question Profile — seattleworks @ 7:00 am
Tags:


1. Name: Tara Smith

    Neighborhood: Madrona

    Occupation: Engineer

    Years in Seattle: 5

2. Where is your favorite place to go in Seattle?

Anywhere there is water! The sculpture park is one of my favorites. I could probably sit and stare out at the Puget Sound for hours and never get bored.

3. Your first interaction with Seattle Works was…?

Seattle Works Day! I first volunteered several years ago.

4. What’s the best meal you’ve eaten in the Seattle area?

Seattle is filled with amazing food, but the first that come to mind is Kabul – a little Afghan place in Wallingford. The staff is super friendly and the food will send you into a trance with every bite – the flavors are out of this world!

5. Are you involved with any other Seattle nonprofit organizations?

After taking Seattle Works’ HandsOn Leadership course, I was paired up with Magnuson Nature Programs, a child organization of the Associated Recreation Council (ARC) non-profit. I’ve been working with them for the past 8 months helping organize and run various nature programs and landscaping work parties. I’m also hoping to help out another local non-profit with their annual fundraising event, but the details are still in work.

6. Which coffee shop do you most frequent?

I recently moved, so I haven’t found my favorite local joint, but when I lived downtown it was Cherry Street Coffee house near 1st and Clay – great ambiance and awesome coffee. These days a quick jaunt through the Starbucks drive-through on my way to work is all I’ve had time for.

7. What three words best describe your experience with Seattle Works?

Inspiring, fulfilling, and fun!

8. Mariners, Sounders, or Seahawks?

I’m honestly not a huge sports follower, but I would have to say Sounders…I still have a soft spot in my heart for my home town Rockies and Broncos!

9.  What is your most (or first) memorable volunteer experience?

I volunteered with my basketball team in high school to clean and paint the local homeless shelter. One year we decided to bake cupcakes on Valentine’s Day and serve them to the residents. It was an extremely humbling experience and definitely planted the seed to keep reaching out and giving back.

10. What makes someone a Seattleite?

You say you love the rain and the clouds, but complain when it’s not sunny. You live for the summers, but complain when it gets too hot!

This weekly 10 question profile is Seattle Works way of highlighting and saying THANK YOU to all that our volunteers, leaders, community partners, board members, committee members, etc do for our community! We’re asking the same 10 questions to various Seattle Works participants as a fun way to feature the different ways to be involved with Seattle Works and in Seattle.

Want to be profiled? Fill out this survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/5KP5CY3 and send a photo to yourself to Bevin at bevin@seattleworks.org

P.S. In case you’re interested, the inspiration behind these interviews comes from NY Mag’s weekly blog post.

 

One Response to “Tara Smith enjoys staring out at the Sound”

  1. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly
    enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing on your feed and I am
    hoping you write again very soon!


Leave a Reply

