Seattle Works

A blog that documents all things Seattle Works…and much much more!

8 weeks later–SW in the eyes of an intern August 8, 2013

Filed under: Grab bag — seattleworks @ 1:02 pm
Tags:

I only have one week left of work left here at Seattle Works, and frankly, I can’t believe it. Just yesterday it seems like I was learning the ropes of Outlook, Salesforce, and Greater Giving, and here I am fixing to say goodbye.

I am part of a program with 15 other students who are all working at nonprofits in the Seattle area. Reflection is a huge element of DukeEngage, so we get together twice a week to discuss work. In these sessions, I have the opportunity to learn about a variety of nonprofits around Seattle, such as Northwest Harvest, One America, and Seattle Tilth, among others.

One reappearing theme that has become apparent in my time here is how the VOLUNTEERS of Seattle Works are what really make it special. Any given organization can have volunteers, but every person that I have met associated with SW is downright AWESOME. Y’all (headed back to NC next week—so I have to reconnect with my southern roots!) are fun, lively, and easygoing. Along with these traits, you’re community-oriented and enthusiastic about making Seattle a nice place to live and work.

I will miss the ease of the west coast lifestyle, but I plan on staying connected with Seattle Works after I return to school. Now I know that it is easy to find a niche in volunteerism, something that SW has proven to me. Keep doing what you’re doing, and stay awesome. Thanks for being a Seattle Works volunteer.

 

Curious about what I’ve done around the city? Here is a (short) peek into my time in Seattle

coral9

coral1coral3coral4coral8

 

Leave a Reply

